前列腺癌有什么治疗方法?

前列腺癌是其中一种治愈率相当高的癌症,初期患者在接受治疗后的10 年存活率接近90%。前列腺癌的治疗方是依据患者个人的状况,包括肿瘤的大小、癌细胞是否扩散等因素而决定最适合的治疗方

  1. 局限性前列腺癌指癌细胞局限于前列腺内,尚未扩散至身体其他部位的肿瘤。治疗方式包括:
    • 根治性前列腺切除术 (radical prostatectomy)
    • 放射治疗 (radiotherapy)
    • 主动监测 (active surveillance)
    • 观察等待 (watchful waiting)

      在进行治疗前,患者应与医生商量最适合的治疗方案(shared decision making), 并询问医生以下事项:
    • 适合的治疗方案
    • 各治疗方案对存活率、生活质量的正面影响
    • 各治疗方案的副作用或负面影响
  2. 局部侵犯性前列腺癌指癌细胞扩散至前列腺的外层,并可能扩散到精囊的肿瘤。至今,医学上仍未对这期的前列腺癌最佳治疗方案达致共识。放射治疗搭配荷尔蒙治疗是最常使用的治疗方案。此外,根治性前列腺切除术也可能适合某些患者。
  3. 转移性前列腺癌指癌细胞已扩散至其他器官,如:骨头、淋巴、肝或肺的肿瘤。晚期前列腺癌的主要治疗方案是荷尔蒙治疗。荷尔蒙治疗可通过手术(睾丸切除术)及药物疗法进行。前列腺癌细胞的生长依赖雄性素的男性激素。荷尔蒙治疗的目的是降低体内的雄性激素的水平,阻止前列腺癌细胞增生。

 

至今,医学研究也建议使用化学治疗(化疗)及荷尔蒙治疗的新药物(abiraterone, enzalutamide, apalutamide)于适合的患者以提高其存活率。

How is prostate cancer treated?

Prostate cancer is one of the most curable cancers. Over 90% of patients with early stage prostate cancer survived for at least 10 years after receiving treatment. Prostate cancer is treated based on the risk and stage of the cancer. In general,

  1. Localised or organ confined disease (the cancer is confined within the prostate gland), treatment options are:
    • Surgery (radical prostatectomy)
    • Radiotherapy
    • Active surveillance
    • Watchful waiting

      The decision on which treatment option to choose involves a decision between patient and doctor (shared decision making). Ask your doctor:
    • What are the treatment options for my cancer?
    • What are the advantages on survival and quality of life of each treatment option?
    • What are the disadvantages / side effects of each treatment option?
  2. Locally advanced prostate cancer (the cancer has spread just outside the prostate): There is no consensus as to the best management for locally advanced prostate cancer. Currently, the most common option is radiotherapy plus androgen deprivation therapy (ADT). Surgery (radical prostatectomy) is also applicable to selected patients with favourable features.
  3. Metastatic prostate cancer (the cancer has spread to other parts of the body including bones, lymph nodes, liver or lungs): The recommended treatment is ADT. This can be done by orchidectomy (a surgery to remove the testes) or taking medication to reduce the level of testosterone in the body. This will lead to shrinkage of the cancer, as the growth of prostate cancer is dependent on testosterone.

 

To date, additional therapy with chemotherapy or hormonal therapy (abiraterone, enzalutamide or apalutamide) may be recommended in certain situations as they improve the chance of patients’ survival.