如何诊断前列腺癌?

如果您的PSA血液测试或直肠指检结果异常,医生可能会建议您进行活体组织切片来确定您是否患上前列腺癌。

 

活体组织切片(Biopsy, 简称活检)是从病人的前列腺取样进行活组织检查。活检是由泌尿科专科医生进行,一般是经直肠超声波引导下(transrectal ultrasound, TRUS), 同步扫描和抽取前列腺样本作化验。有些泌尿科专科医生会融合磁力共振(MRI)扫描的技术来抽取样本。除此之外,病人也可以在全身麻醉下进行经会阴超声波扫描前列腺穿刺活体组织检查(transperineal ultrasound-guided prostate needle biopsy)。泌尿科专科医生会把超声波探头放入病人直肠, 通过会阴取得前列腺活组织。

 

前列腺癌是以格里森指数(Gleason score系统,按照癌细胞在显微镜下细胞分化程度的不同而分级。格里森指数为6-10分。格里森指数越高的肿瘤,越恶性及快速扩散。格里森指数8分或以上代表低分化癌细胞恶性程度较高,较有可能迅速生长和扩散。

癌症分期

一旦确诊后,前列腺癌患者需要检测以确定癌细胞是否已在前列腺内扩散或扩散到身体其他部位(称为分期, staging)。医生通常利用成像技术如骨骼扫描、电脑断层 (CT )或核磁共振(MRI)来判断前列腺的分期, 以决定最佳的治疗法案。对于前列腺癌而言,除非患者已出现症状,或者已有肿瘤扩散的征兆,否则不会进行肿瘤分期检测。

 

图片来源:

How to diagnose prostate cancer?

Should the PSA or DRE results be abnormal, a doctor may advise you to go for a biopsy to confirm or rule out the diagnosis of prostate cancer.

 

A biopsy is a procedure where a small piece of tissue is removed from the prostate gland for examination under a microscope. This procedure is performed by a urologist, who specialises in prostate problems and other urinary tract diseases. The urologist often uses a transrectal ultrasound (TRUS), which is inserted through the anus, to take tissue samples from several areas of the prostate gland. Some urologists may use magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) to guide the biopsy. Another biopsy approach is ultrasound-guided transperineal prostate biopsy, which is often performed under general anaesthesia. In the transperineal prostate biopsy, the biopsy needles are passed through the perineal skin and into the prostate.

 

During the microscopic examination, a Gleason score is given if the tissues from the biopsy confirm the prostate cancer diagnosis. This score is based on how many cells in the cancerous tissue that look different from the normal prostate cells. The total Gleason score ranges from 6 to 10. The higher the score, the more likely the cancer will grow and spread rapidly. For instance, scores of 8 and higher describe cancer cells that are poorly-differentiated (very different from normal prostate cells) and are likely to spread more quickly.

Staging

If prostate cancer is diagnosed, it is important to find out whether cancer cells have spread within the prostate gland or to other parts of the body (metastasis). Imaging tests can confirm and provide information about the cancer’s location and extent of spread. This process is known as staging.

 

Staging is performed using bone scan, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) or computed tomography (CT) scan. These imaging tests are done to help doctors to plan for the best treatment option. Nevertheless, asymptomatic patients with low-risk, early stage prostate cancer may not require a CT scan or bone scan for staging.

 

Source of image: