林忠辉

前机械工程师. 他于2015年被诊断患上前列腺癌,现今正停职接受治疗。

林忠辉,53岁

前机械工程师. 他于2015年被诊断患上前列腺癌,现今正停职接受治疗。

 

在还未被诊断患上前列腺癌时,我从没做过任何癌症筛查,对于前列腺癌也一概不通。2015年的某一天,我突然感到背部剧烈疼痛。经过多次的血液、影像检测和活体切片组织检查后,我被证实患上了晚期前列腺癌,癌细胞也已扩散至淋巴和骨头。还记得当时,我的PSA指数高达1600ng/ml, 远远超出正常水平约400倍,格里森指数也高达9,情况算是恶劣。

 

一开始,我感到十分讶异, 因为我是一个没有任何家族癌症病史的人啊!

在48岁之际患上第4期前列腺癌,我和我的家人都实在难以接受。我们无法想象这老年人的癌症,竟然发生在还未满50岁的我。我顿时感到失措,毕竟家里还有两个小孩正值求学的年龄。虽然如此,在抗癌的路程上,我很感激家人给我无私的爱与支持,他们是我对抗前列腺癌的最佳支柱。

 

其实,私人医院的前列腺癌治疗费用相当昂贵,庆幸的是,我的医疗保险为我承担了不少的医药费用。五年的抗癌路程,我深深地体会到生命的可贵,活着就是幸运,活着就是幸福。
我的抗癌秘诀是保持积极的心态,多运动及永不言弃!

Lim Chong Hooi

A Mechanical Engineer who was diagnosed with prostate cancer in 2015 and has stopped working to dedicate his full time to treat his cancer.

Lim Chong Hooi, 53 years old.

A Mechanical Engineer who was diagnosed with prostate cancer in 2015 and has stopped working to dedicate his full time to treat his cancer.

 

Prior to my cancer being detected, I had very little knowledge on prostate cancer as I never did any medical tests on cancer. In 2015, I experienced serious lower back pains. After rounds of blood tests, imaging, and biopsy, I was diagnosed with advanced prostate cancer with lymph nodes and bone involvements. My PSA was > 1600 ng/ml at diagnosis with a Gleason score of 9.

 

Initially, I was totally shocked as there was no family history of cancer.

Family members were sad because they did not expect me to have succumbed to stage 4 prostate cancer at the “young” age of 48. Both of my children were still young and studying. Nevertheless, I am truly grateful to have a very supportive and loving family while undergoing treatments. They are my pillars of strength when facing my illness.

 

The cost of prostate cancer treatment is high particularly in the private hospitals. My medical insurance did help to cover some of the medical bills. To date, I have survived for 5 years and counting. I consider myself to be very fortunate and blessed. A key to combating this illness is to keep up the positive mindset, exercise regularly, and to never give up!