黄润华

黄润华 73岁, 现任马大医药中心运动支援组主席, 学习障碍病患家属协会(PERKOBP)副会长, 马来西亚前列腺癌协会委员,Together Against Cancer (TAC) 协会委员及雪兰莪州特别奥林匹克协会委员

黄润华 ,73岁

现任马大医药中心运动支援组主席, 学习障碍病患家属协会(PERKOBP)副会长, 马来西亚前列腺癌协会委员,Together Against Cancer (TAC) 协会委员及雪兰莪州特别奥林匹克协会委员

 

随着年龄的增长,我们也需要接受人体必然会衰退的现实。

 

记得59岁那年,我仍然是个上班族,夜尿频是我经历的第一个症状。我的性欲也逐渐下降,但总觉得这只是年老的象征。医生则告诉我,只要减少喝水,便可以改善夜尿频的问题。现在回想起来,这建议根本没有对症下药, 因为少喝水,排尿的次数自然会相对减少。

 

在儿子的建议下,我于2008年进行了一次全身健康检查,报告结果显示我的PSA血液指数是36.4ng/ml!经过前列腺活体组织切片和影像检查后,我被诊断患上了前列腺癌。

 

一开始,我的家人对这突如其来的噩耗感到十分意外,毕竟一直以来我都很活跃于运动。在抗癌的路上,家人成为了我最坚强的后盾。我的太太每天都陪伴着我到医院接受放射治疗。对于她无私的爱与付出,我衷心感激。

 

人们常说充分的运动能降低癌症的风险。

虽然患上前列腺癌,我依然活跃于自己热爱的登山运动。如今,我已成功在2017年两次登上沙巴神山,而其中一次更与24位癌症幸存者和家属一同完成这个壮举。我的下一个目标是要登上珠穆朗玛峰基地营。

 

您是否知道Sabahan Buatin Blandong先生是成功登顶神山最年长者?这位来自沙巴的铁汉创下这个壮举时已年届82岁。我希望成为这项纪录下一个保持者, 为此, 我会积极地活下去,至少下个十年!

 

‘珍惜现在,活在当下’是我的座右铭。加油!

Peter Wong

Peter Wong, 73 years old, President of Exercise Support Group @ University of Malaya Medical Centre (ESG @ UMMC), Vice President of Pertubuhan Keluarga Orang-Orang Bermasalah Pembelajaran (PERKOBP). Committee member of Prostate Cancer Society Malaysia (PCSM), Together Against Cancer (TAC), and Special Olympic Selangor (SOS’gor).

Peter Wong, 73 years old.

President of Exercise Support Group @ University of Malaya Medical Centre (ESG @ UMMC), Vice President of Pertubuhan Keluarga Orang-Orang Bermasalah Pembelajaran (PERKOBP). Committee member of Prostate Cancer Society Malaysia (PCSM), Together Against Cancer (TAC), and Special Olympic Selangor (SOS’gor).

 

As you get older, you come to accept the shortcomings of aging.

 

I was 59 and still gainfully employed in 2006. My libido had dropped and I took it as part of growing old. Frequent urination at night was my first symptom! My doctor convinced me that I should drink less water to cope with this problem. Of course, less water means less urine! That was the most notable mistake made by my Doctor.

 

In 2008, I took a health check blood test as suggested by my son. All the results looked good, except the prostate-specific antigen (PSA) level. It was 36.4 ng/ml! I was diagnosed with prostate cancer after undergoing all the necessary scans and prostate biopsy in HKL.

 

My family was surprised by the news because I was a very physically active person.

They rallied behind me and gave me their unconditional support and love. My loving wife accompanied me to the radiotherapy session everyday. I’m thankful and cherish her unconditional love in my cancer survivorship.

 

Everyone says to be active and exercise to prevent cancer.

Yet, I am active and a prostate cancer survivor. Cancer never stops me from pursuing my interest in hiking. I have hiked up the Mount Kinabalu twice within 2 months in 2017. My first climb was done alone in July. The 2nd climb was in September, leading a team of 24 cancer survivors and care-givers. My next destination is Everest Base Camp.

 

The oldest man to climb Mount Kinabalu is Mr. Sabahan Buatin Blandong, a Sabahan aged 82 years old. My ardent dream is to be the oldest man to ascend Mount Kinabalu. In other words, I have to be alive and well for the next 10 years!

 

“Living today for tomorrow” – a principle I always live by. Cheers mate!