我是否需要接受前列腺癌筛查?

筛查是指为没有症状的人士进行检测。大多数前列腺癌生长缓慢,有时甚至无需治疗。然而,仍有些前列腺癌生长相对快速,可扩散至其他身体部位。因此,若及早发现并及时治疗, 这可提升此病例的存活率。

前列腺癌筛检的目的是在症状未出现前检测出患上高风险前列腺癌的男士, 以便及早治疗。目前,两种常见的前列腺癌筛查方法包括:

  • 直肠指检 (DRE);医生戴上手套后会用手指 经肛门进入直肠,以检查前列腺后部分是否有异常。这项筛查通常会与前列腺特异性抗原(PSA)血液测试合并使用。
  • 前列腺特异性抗原(PSA)血液测试;PSA是一种由前列腺所制造的蛋白质。这测试是测量血液中的PSA水平。虽然这项测试有助于诊断初期前列腺癌,但有几种非癌症的前列腺疾病也会令血液中的PSA水平升高, 例如良性前列腺肥大症、前列腺炎等。

所有筛查都有局限及潜在的风险,因为它可能会引起过度诊断或假阴性的结果。因此,医生将先衡量及评估您个人的患癌风险,而与您共同决定是否进行前列腺癌筛查。

以下两项是来自国际医学组织对前列腺癌筛查的建议:

  • 根据2018年USPTF的指南中建议,年龄在55-69岁之间的男性应与医生讨论PSA筛查的利弊后才决定是否进行筛查。年龄超过70岁的男性无需进行例行前列腺癌筛查。
  • 根据NCCN的建议,医生在建议是否进行前列腺癌筛查前必须评估病人的年龄、PSA指数、直肠指检结果及其他风险。

如果您考虑进行前列腺癌筛查,您应先咨询医生的意见并考量以下的因素包括:

  • 前列腺癌家族病史
  • 现阶段个人健康状况
  • 筛检、诊断及治疗的利与弊

 

图片来源:

Should I screen for prostate cancer?

Screening means checking your body for cancer before you develop any signs or symptoms. Prostate cancer is a slow-growing tumour which may never require treatment in many men. However, in some men, prostate cancer can grow quickly and may spread to other parts of the body. Early detection is crucial in these men to ensure better chance of recovery with timely treatment.

The goal of prostate cancer screening is to search for cancer that may be at high risk of spreading and treat them early. There are two common tests to screen for prostate cancer:

  • Digital rectal examination (DRE): During the examination, the doctor inserts a lubricated, gloved finger into the rectum to feel the surface of the prostate for any irregularities. It is usually followed by a PSA blood test.
  • Prostate Specific Antigen (PSA) blood test: This test measures the amount of PSA (a substance made by the prostate gland) in the blood. Whilst PSA test is useful for detecting early-stage prostate cancer particularly in high-risk men, it also identifies other non-cancerous conditions such as benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH) and slow-growing tumours that would never threaten a man’s life.

Prostate cancer screening tests, either DRE or PSA, are not fool-proof. They may over or under detect prostate cancer. Your doctor will assess your individual risks and decide with you whether to screen for prostate cancer.

Here are two recommendations from international organisations on prostate cancer screening:

  • The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommends that men between 55 and 69 should discuss the benefits and harms of prostate cancer screening using a PSA test with their doctor before making a decision. Men who are 70 and older should not have routine prostate cancer screening.
  • The National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) considers a patient’s age, PSA value, DRE results, and other factors in their recommendations.

If you are thinking about being screened, talk to your doctor. Questions that need to be considered are:

  • Do you have a family history of prostate cancer?
  • Do you have other existing medical conditions which make you less likely to undergo prostate cancer treatment and thus benefit from screening?
  • How do you evaluate the potential benefits and harms of screening, diagnosis, and treatment?

 

Source of image: